Advisory Board

To guarantee excellent research and management structures, MAINZ has installed an external advisory board, which consists of six outstanding members from academia and industry. The advisory board supports MAINZ in general issues and, in particular, in its regular evaluation procedures. The board will meet every other year to evaluate the graduate school. Additional meetings may be suggested by the Director of MAINZ or by faculty members. 


The members of the MAINZ Advisory Board are:


Research Area Name Institution Function 
Functional Polymers

Prof. Dr. Harm-Anton Klok

EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Head of Polymers Laboratory at EPFL

Industrial Relations

Dr. Wolfgang Baiker Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH, Ingelheim, Germany Board of Managing Directors, CBD Biopharmaceuticals and Operations

Hybrid Materials

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

University of Oldenburg, Germany

Laboratory Head and Vice President for Research

Model Systems and Correlated Matter

Prof. Dr. Hilbert von Löhneysen Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany Director of the Institute for Solid State Physics

Bio-Related Materials