Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, headed by the director, usually consists of five elected PIs and the two student representatives. The PI members of the Steering Committee are elected every second year by all PIs of the school. If required, the PIs can co-opt additional members to the Steering Committee for special duties. Meetings of the Steering Committee take place at least twice per year. The Steering Committee is the main decision-making body of the school and sets annual objectives and policy aims for MAINZ in accordance with the school’s program. It oversees training and dissemination actions as well as the administrative, legal and financial status of the school. Furthermore, it decides on the readjustment of the research and training program of MAINZ and implements changes of the faculty if necessary. Therefore, the Steering Committee regularly evaluates the performance of participating PIs, ensures the quality of selection processes for PhD students by appointing a Selection Committee, and monitors the progress of the school as a whole.

The members of the MAINZ Steering Committee are:

Name Function / Institution
Marius Bauer MAINZ Student Speaker, JGU Mainz
Christian Berac MAINZ Vice Student Speaker, JGU Mainz
Prof. Dr. Burkhard Hillebrands TU Kaiserslautern
Prof. Dr. Mathias Kläui Director of MAINZ, JGU Mainz
Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester MPI-P Mainz
Prof. Dr. Harald Paulsen JGU Mainz
Prof. Dr. Eva Rentschler JGU Mainz
Prof. Dr. Carsten Sönnichsen JGU Mainz
Prof. Dr. Siegfried Waldvogel Vice Director of MAINZ, JGU Mainz